The Door Keeper Blog Tour Day Two

Thank you so much to Michele for being a part of my blog tour! Below is her review of The Door Keeper, but you should follow her for more insightful book reviews at https://wreckedmyeyesreading.wordpress.com/.

 

img_0453

The Nitty-Gritty:
I had so much fun reading this book. The different worlds that Steen Jones has created are so beyond anything that I’ve ever read before, and I had so much fun traveling with Eden to those different worlds. I also had so much fun traveling with Eden to Italy. This is definitely one of those books that inspires you to purchase a plane ticket. I need to go now.

Not only did I love the physical journeys that Eden went on, but I also loved the emotional journey that she took. Eden is a wonderfully complex and dynamic character, and I loved watching her come to terms with everything that she was learning about herself. Seeing her struggle with how her new role conflicted with her life as a mother, as well as the family she had created for herself in Georgia, was fascinating.

Normally I hate epilogues. I feel like too often authors use epilogues as a way to tie up all of the loose ends in a neat bow because they don’t trust their readers to understand the world or the characters enough to accurately imagine where they could end up. But the epilogue for this book was so good. Honestly, the epilogue made me really sad that I had received an ARC of the book because it means that I’m going to have to wait that much longer to read the next book in the trilogy. I just want it now, alright?

The Verdict:
The Door Keeper is an excellent debut book. It’s a fun read, and I absolutely cannot wait to get my hands on the next book in the trilogy.

Leave a Reply

