If at first you don’t succeed…

I’ve been dreading writing this post. A week has passed since I woke up to some upsetting news. My publisher, Royal James Publishing, closed it’s doors last Tuesday.

After being available for purchase for 2 months, The Door Keeper will be pulled from Amazon and Barnes and Noble effective immediately. The good news is that the publisher was very happy with TDK and how it was selling. Her decision to close had more to do with how the overall business was doing. But still, a big time bummer.

So, I’m back to square one. Well, not completely at square one at least. I have a beautiful cover, the writing went through a round of editing (although, I think it could use some more), I got some great reviews, the book is formatted for e-version, and all rights remain with me.

I don’t have any regrets. I knew signing with Royal James was a risk, and I have learned SO much since signing my contract. Lessons that I will absolutely use moving forward.Β It’s just difficult when you have been building momentum and suddenly have to halt everything. So the big question is, what am I going to do now? What’s my next step?

After seeking some counsel from author friends, I’ve decided to restart my search for an agent. An agent would be able to help me know where to go from here. An agent could answer the questions that I have: Do I self publish TDK and work on selling the sequel? Do I shelf it and attempt to sell the first and second together? Or do I just start over and re-sell the TDK before doing anything else with the sequel?

For friends of mine, I have about 30 copies left I can sell you from the trunk of my car. πŸ™‚ To those of you I’ve already talked to, thank you so much for your kind words and support. It means so much.

I’d love any input you guys may have for me. As in most of my short writing career, I’m in unchartered territories here…

What do y’all think? What would you do if you were in my position? How do I move forward from here?

8 thoughts on “If at first you don’t succeed…

  1. I’m in the same boat, obviously. I’ve decided to go it alone, though: she gave us all of our materials, already formatted and everything. Amazon and Smashwords and places like that make it very easy to self-publish, and since you do have such a great cover and all that, it’d be pretty easy to just set it back up on Amazon (and email them to link the RJP version’s reviews and all to the new one) and keep going with just a small blip.

    Of course, I’m probably in a slightly different situation, since my book wasn’t really selling. It going away for a day or two and then coming back wouldn’t kill any momentum, because there isn’t any.

    But you could totally do self-publishing! I know some good editors (one of ’em’s going through my second book right now), and all the money you spend on it is tax deductible (according to my accountant/father).

    But hey, whatever you do, I look forward to the next book!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi Steen. This is so sad. I loved your review copy and was so looking forward to the next part. Would love a hard copy of The Door Keeper if possible. How do I go about buying from you? Paypal and shipping to SA. Please let me know and I am sure that something will work out. Everything happens for a reason always. Regards.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m doing the same as Charlie. My book had only a little work done so I was able to just move forward on my own. You can do what many have done, self-publish TDK, sell the sequels, and then let the new publisher re-issue TDK under their imprint. Sometimes building momentum shows a publisher you can sell and have readers. Keep writing the series, though! Most publishers want to know your publishing plan and if you can give them multiple completed works, it’s probably better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

